Michael Krasner Memorial Scholarship Fund

Michael j. Krasner, ny upstate chapter apa president (photo taken in alex bay, ny at the 2002 ny upstate chapter apa fall conference)

Michael j. Krasner, ny upstate chapter apa president (photo taken in alex bay, ny at the 2002 ny upstate chapter apa fall conference)

The Michael J. Krasner Memorial Scholarship is a competitive award for a graduate student in the Urban and Regional Planning Program at the University at Buffalo.  The scholarship honors Mike Krasner’s dedication to the profession and education of planning in Western New York as well as his commitment to APA.  The $1,500 scholarship is awarded to the student that best exhibits: his/her commitment to planning issues in Western and Upstate New York; their intent to practice within the Upstate Chapter; and who best reflects the ideals of Mike Krasner.

Second year students in the UB Graduate Program in Urban and Regional Planning receive the call for nominations in February each year.  Questions regarding the program should be directed to Richard Guarino, Chairman of the Krasner Selection Committee.

Michael J. Krasner of Cheektowaga, died unexpectedly Wednesday, February 4, 2004, in his home. He was 51; beloved son of the late Alfred V. and Laura A. (Pleban) Krasner; survived by several cousins. Funeral service from the BARRON-MILLER FUNERAL HOME INC., 3025 William St. near Union Rd., Cheektowaga, Saturday at 8:45 AM and in Corpus Christi Church at 9:30 AM. Family will be present on Friday from 2-4 and 7-9 PM. Mr. Krasner was the President of the New York Upstate Chapter of the American Planning Association.

Michael Krasner's bio from NY Upstate Chapter APA Executive Board elections in 2002

Michael Krasner, AICP is completing his first term as Chapter President. A member of the Chapter Executive Board for the past seven years, Mike has previously served as Vice President, Public Relations Officer and Member-at-Large.  A practicing professional for 25 years in public, private and academic sectors, Mike has been with the Erie County Division of Planning since 1986 and is a Senior Planner. He is a charter member of APA and has been a member of AICP since 1980. He holds a B.A. in Environmental Design from SUNY/Buffalo (1974) and an M.S. in City and Regional Planning from the University of Toronto (1977). Mike is also an adjunct professor at the SUNY/Buffalo Department of Urban and Regional Planning. He is a member of the Planning Accreditation Board's Site Visitor Pool, drawing assignments in the past five years to Cal Poly/San Luis Obispo and East Carolina University. In his hometown of Cheektowaga, Mike has served as a volunteer member of the town's Conservation Advisory Committee and the Stiglmeier Park Steering Committee. In Western New York, Mike has received section awards for "Distinguished Service to Section" (1994) and "Distinguished Leadership: Professional Planner" (2002).

As a senior planner with the Erie County Office of Environment and Planning for the past 20 years, Mr. Krasner worked on such major projects as the Buffalo waterfront, the Elm-Oak Corridor, the Burt Flickinger Center, the Riverwalk and the Erie Canalway Trail. He received the 2002 Distinguished Leadership Award from the Western New York Section of the NY Upstate Chapter APA. Thanks to Mr. Krasner's promotion of Buffalo with the association, APA will hold its 2005 National Leadership Conference here in September in conjunction the NY Upstate Chapter APA Annual Conference.

"Mike was a distinguished member of our planning team," said County Executive Joel A. Giambra, "and his insight and talents helped shape the landscape for Erie County. Mike's love for his hometown was evident, and he will be missed both professionally and personally." The citizens of our community have profited from his wisdom, and we will always be grateful to him for helping make Erie County a better place to live."

During his career as an urban planner, he visited every village in New York State.


Past Scholarship Winners

2013 Winner: Melanie Reimondo

 Melanie Reimondo Krasner Scholarship Submission

2011 Winner: Tamara S. Wright

Click HERE to read the winning essay

2010 Winner: Tyler Mekus

Click HERE to read the winning essay

2009 Winner: Christopher Schaut

Click HERE to read the winning essay

2008 Winner: Brittany DiLeo

Click HERE to read the winning essay

2007 Winner: Arlene Rodriguez

2006 Winner: Mark Rountree

2005 Winner: Christopher W. Parezo

2004 Winner: Eric Ameigh